Mini Christmas Cupcakes

As everyone knows, one of the best things about Christmas is the food. It is the best time of year to unleash your creativity. This year I decided to bake mini red velvet cupcakes with simple decorations – less is more in this case. With so many little cupcakes, the more simplistic decorations look the most effective. I chose to decorate with mini m&ms, silver cachous, crushed candy canes and peppermint crisps.

I baked red velvet cupcakes because I just love the combination of such a beautiful, vibrant cake and cream cheese icing. Best of all, if I used any mint-flavoured candy it wouldn’t conflict with the flavours of the cake.

I used the red velvet recipe from this fantastic blog: http://tastedbytwo.com/2009/06/23/recipe-magnolia-red-velvet-cupcakes/ This recipe has been my staple for the past few years; it works for full sized cakes, wedding cakes, regular cupcakes and mini cupcakes. I usually halve the recipe to make a batch of mini cupcakes, otherwise I’d be baking for hours. I also omit any vanilla from the cream cheese icing; I don’t think it needs it.

The great thing about these mini sized cupcakes is that they look amazing in a box, ready to treat someone for Christmas!

Merry Christmas everyone!

 

3 thoughts on “Mini Christmas Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Buttermilk Pikelets | Pretty Little Crumbs

Leave a Reply

